Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute. Library 225 South Street Williamstown, MA, 01267 413-458-0532 email@example.com
April 26, 2011
Arrangement and description by Christopher Geissler; encoded by Penny Baker
Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute. Library
Preliminary Guide to Records of the Office of Communications and Design
30.25 linear feet (51 boxes)
Records related to completed and ongoing projects from the Office of Communications and Design, were transferred at the conclusion of Lisa Green's tenure as Director of Communications and Design
CAI ARC 2010.01
This collection is located in Archives1.
The collection is arranged in seven series: Series I. Director's office records of building projects, 1995-1999; Series II. Records of Visiting Scholar's Residence renovation; Series III. Records of building renovations from the office of Alan Chamberland; Series IV. Expansion Project records, 2001-2009?; Series V. Drawings and display boards; Series VI. Project manuals, reports; Series VII. Unprocessed materials. Records were delivered to the Archive in labeled boxes, some with printed inventories
Scope and Contents note
The collection comprises the records of the Office of Communications and Design, and its predecessor the Office of Architecture and Design, as well as earlier records collected by the two offices. The records document building expansion projects at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute from 1995 to 2009, with a significant focus on the Tadao Andō designed expansion begun in 2001 and ongoing as of 2010
History of the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
In 1950 Sterling and Francine Clark chartered the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute as a home for their extensive art collection. Opened to public in 1955, the Institute has built upon this extraordinary group of works to become one of the most beloved and respected art museums in the world, known for its intimate galleries and stunning natural environment. One of the few institutions in the United States that combines a public art museum with a complement of research and academic programs, including a major art history library, the Clark is now a leading international center for research and discussion on the nature of art and art history. Building upon the founders' legacy, the Institute has recently unveiled its master plan for the twenty-first century, which fosters the Clark's commitment to providing space for its expanding research and museum programs while maintaining the unique character of its beautiful rural setting
Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
Ann Beha Associates
Architects Collaborative, Inc
Mead Consulting (Firm)
Reed Hilderbrand Associates
Rise Group (Firm)
Stone Hill Center (Williamstown, Mass.)
Machado and Silvetti Associates, Inc.
Cooper, Robertson & Partners
Lord Cultural Resources Planning and Management Inc.
Tadao Ando, Architect and Associates
Ando, Tadao, 1941-
Green, Lisa J.
Hotaling, Thomas M.
Lucker, Jay K.
Environmental impact statements
Historic structure reports
Master plans (Orthographic projections)
Art museum architecture
Art museums -- Design and construction
Perry, Daniel, d. 2002
Conditions Governing Access note
This material is currently restricted
Conditions Governing Use note
This material is currently restricted
Custodial History note
Received: May 2010; Office of Communications and Design (Lisa Green)
Preferred Citation note
[Cite the item (as appropriate)], Records of the Office of Communications and Design, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute Records, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute. Library, Williamstown, Massachusetts
Immediate Source of Acquisition note
Files were accessioned May 2010
Processing Information note
Christopher Geissler, Archivist, created an inventory, described the collection, and rehoused the materials between October and December 2010.
Materials related to building projects at the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute can be found in the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute Records: Architectural Drawings for the Museum Building, 1951; Blueprints from the Architects Collaborative, 1969-1972; Specifications Manuals for the Service, Museum, and Manton Buildings, 1952-1973; Stone Hill Center Opening Scissors and Ribbon; Architects Collaborative Records of the Manton Research Center, 1966-1973; Clark Prize for Excellence in Arts Writing Records, 2009; CAI ARC 2011.01. Preliminary Inventory of Building Project and Other Files Transferred by the Director's Office, 1997-2003