The arrangement of this series has not been altered. It is roughly chronological but some portions are topical and/or alphabetical without regard to the general chronology.
Scope and Contents of the Records
This series contains the records of Michael Rinehart, librarian of the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute from 1966-1987. The series includes an assortment of records regarding the early development and administration of the Library. The bulk of the material is business and personal correspondence. The correspondents include other museums and libraries, national museum and library associations, Clark trustees, Rinehart's students, and Clark staff. Much of the correspondence deals with the development of the library collection through gifts, purchases, and exchanges with other libraries. There are several folders of personal correspondence with Rinehart's colleagues, friends, and former students. The series also contains syllabi and course work for graduate courses taught by Rinehart, daily planners for the years 1977-1980, files on the hiring and evaluation of library staff, and financial records such as budgets, records of gifts, and drafts of annual report statements.
History of the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
In 1950 Sterling and Francine Clark chartered the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute as a home for their extensive art collection. Opened to public in 1955, the Institute has built upon this extraordinary group of works to become one of the most beloved and respected art museums in the world, known for its intimate galleries and stunning natural environment. One of the few institutions in the United States that combines a public art museum with a complement of research and academic programs, including a major art history library, the Clark is now a leading international center for research and discussion on the nature of art and art history. Building upon the founders' legacy, the Institute has recently unveiled its master plan for the twenty-first century, which fosters the Clark's commitment to providing space for its expanding research and museum programs while maintaining the unique character of its beautiful rural setting.
Bober, Phyllis Pray
Carlhian, Jean Paul
Eddinger, Deborah A.
Folin, Elizabeth Fitton
Hamilton, George Heard
Held, Julius Samuel, 1905-
Roloff, Daphne C.
Weinreb, Ben, 1912-
Architects Collaborative, Inc.
Courtauld Institute of Art
Garland Publishing, Inc.
International Foundation for Art Research
Metropolitan Museum of Art (New York, N.Y.)
Museum of Fine Arts, Boston
National Committee for the History of Art (U.S.)
Northeast Document Conservation Center
Paul Mellon Centre for Studies in British Art
Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute
Villa I Tatti (Florence, Italy)
Worcester Art Museum
Art libraries -- Collection development
Art museums -- Employees
Restrictions on Access
This material is currently restricted.
Restrictions on Use
This material is currently restricted.
Some of this material was transferred from the Office of the Librarian in August, 2007. The remaining portion of the records were placed in Storage A sometime after 1980.
[Cite the item (as appropriate)], Library Records of Michael Rinehart, 1965-1980, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute Records, Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute, Williamstown, Massachusetts.
These records were acquisitioned from Storage A and the Office of the Librarian in August, 2007
Dani Ryan, archives assistant, and Alex Grimley, archives intern, processed these records in August 2007. Staples were removed and materials were re-housed in acid free folders and boxes.
Related or similar material can be found in the following series in the Sterling and Francine Clark Art Institute Records, Williamstown, Massachusetts: Library Records of the Photograph and Slide Librarian; and Records of the Librarian, 1978-1996; Library Acquisitions Ledger, 1964-1998.